Poetry: The Nottingham Collection

edited by John Lucas

ISBN: 9780907123231

Format: Paperback, 138 pages,

Available (Published: November 2005)


Book details

Poetry: the Nottingham collection includes 52 contributors, all living, born or otherwise connected with Nottinghamshire. A companion volume to “Sunday Night and Monday Morning” – a collection of new fiction by Nottinghamshire writers.

Contributors include:

Catherine Byron
Philip Callow
Andy Croft (Smokestack Press)
Duncan Glen (Akros Press)
John Harvey
John Lucas
Jamie McKendrick
Stanley Middleton
Blake Morrison
Graham Mort
Peter Mortimer (Iron Press)
Henry Normal
Tom Paulin
Peter Porter
Peter Sansom (The North)
Vernon Scannell
Alan Sillitoe
Matthew Welton
John Hartley Williams
Gregory Woods
and others

"...a great book to dip in to, a hymn to a place and a manifesto for poetry that is regional, democratic and plain... There are plenty of famous names here... others deserve to be better known... but the book's real delights are poems by younger poets." - Morning Star

"This is what good anthologies should be: surprising, deft and graceful. And a great cover!" - Staple

About the Author

John Lucas has recently retired as Professor of English at Nottingham Trent University. He is a former poetry editor of the New Statesman and has written many critical works including England and Englishness, and, for Five Leaves, The Radical Twenties. He also runs Shoestring Press.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Poetry: The Nottingham Collection”